The Canadian Air Transportation Administration controls and operates Canada's airways and 145 federal airports and provides technical safety supervision of all aeronautical activities in Canadian air space. These activities are conducted through the branches of Civil Aeronautics and Construction Services, and the support branches of Corporate Planning, Finance and Personnel. The Canadian Air Transportation Administration also provides telecommunications, electronics and flight services to other components of the ministry and to other departments and agencies.

The Canadian Surface Transportation Administration has planning, programming and coordinating responsibilities relating to federal participation in the development and, where appropriate, operation, of surface modes of transport. These include railways, highways, private and industrial motor vehicles, motor carriers, e.g. interprovincial trucking, water transportation assistance, ferry services, and urban transportation. The administration maintains an interest in and conducts research on the emerging

technology of surface transportation and its potential applications in Canada.

The Arctic Transportation Agency is responsible for developing and administering policy related to department-supported transportation facilities and services in the Canadian North to further the government's national objectives there. Intermodal relationships between air, surface and marine transportation systems are a particular concern, as well as the compatibility of these systems with economic and technological growth in the North and with the needs of the residents. In this connection there is a special relationship between the agency and the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development.

The Transportation Development Agency is responsible for initiating, promoting and coordinating transportation research and development activities, working closely with government agencies, industry and the academic community to provide a national focus for changing technology and development

opportunities in the field of transportation.

The department also includes Air Canada, Canadian National Railways, and Northern Transportation Company Limited. These three Crown corporations are autonomous, maintaining close consultation with the minister to be consistent with the government's general policies in transportation. The Minister of Transport also reports to Parliament for the Canadian Transport Commission, the National Harbours Board and the St. Lawrence Seaway Authority.

Department of Veterans Affairs. This department, established in 1944 (RSC 1970, c.V-1), is concerned exclusively with the well-being of veterans and with the dependents of veterans and of those who died during active service or as a result of disability attributable to war service. The department is empowered to provide treatment services (hospital, medical, dental and prosthetic), counselling services, education assistance, life insurance, and land settlement and home construction assistance.

The department has treatment institutions and facilities in six major urban centres and three veterans homes across Canada and it maintains administrative offices in the large cities and in London, England. The Canadian Pension Commission, the War Veterans Allowance Board, the Bureau of Pensions Advocates, the Pension Review Board and the Army Benevolent Fund Board report to Parliament through the Minister of Veterans Affairs.

Director of Soldier Settlement and Director of the Veterans' Land Act. The Director of Soldier Settlement (SC 1919, c.71) is also the Director of the Veterans' Land Act (RSC 1970, c.V-4), and in each capacity is legally a corporation sole. For administrative purposes, however, the programs carried on under both acts constitute integral parts of the services provided by the Department of Veterans Affairs.

Economic Council of Canada. This corporation, established under legislation passed on August 2, 1963 (RSC 1970, c.E-1), consists of a full-time chairman and two full-time directors appointed for a term not to exceed seven years, and not more than 25 additional members to serve part-time and without remuneration. The council is to be as representative as possible of the private sector, labour, agriculture, primary industry, secondary industry, commerce and the general public. Its functions are to study and recommend measures that will achieve the highest possible levels of employment and efficient production so that Canada may achieve a high and consistent rate of economic growth and that all Canadians may share in rising living standards. The council reports to Parliament through the Prime Minister and publishes various reports and studies.

Eldorado Aviation Limited. This company is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Eldorado Nuclear Limited and was incorporated April 23, 1953 to carry air traffic, both passenger and freight, for Eldorado Nuclear Limited. It reports to Parliament through the Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources.

Eldorado Nuclear Limited. Set up in 1944 (RSC 1952, c.53) under the name of Eldorado Mining and Refining (1944) Limited (the date was omitted in June 1952 and the name changed in 1968), the Crown company's business is the mining and refining of uranium and the production of nuclear fuels in Canada. The company also acts as a custodian for Her Majesty of concentrates purchased under stockpiling contracts. It reports to Parliament through the Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources.